Homemade Spider Spray

15 Apr

When I moved into my house a year and a half ago, I was having a terrible problem with spiders.  Nothing poisonous, just plain old house spiders.  But still…..spiders are creepy.  And they need to not be in my house.  Ever.

I got sick of constantly having to smoosh them with my shoe and then clean up the juicy bits left behind.  I thought…..there has to be a better way to do this.  So I began doing research on different insect sprays and I found that I just didn’t want to fill my house full of dangerous chemicals.  I didn’t want to breathe them in – and I didn’t want my dog around them at all……not even the ones that were labeled “safe for pets and children”.

My research then turned to finding a way to prevent them from coming in the house at all.  Prevent the problem before it even happens, right?

The following recipe is what I eventually ended up using and I can happily report, I have not seen one spider in my house since I started using it.

What you need:

  • spray bottle
  • lemon oil
  • lavender oil
  • dish soap
  • water

In the spray bottle, mix 10 drops of lemon oil, 10 drops of lavender oil, a small squirt of dish soap (maybe 1/2 TBSP), and a cup of water.  Shake well.  That’s it.  Simple, right?

Please note, I did NOT use this spray in my house.  I didn’t want the oil on my walls or floors.  I only used it OUTSIDE my house and like I said – no spiders since.

I sprayed all the areas around my windows and doors and in areas where I saw spider webs.  I cleaned the webs away first and then sprayed those areas down.

The oils can be purchased from health food stores and online.  If you live in the Jackson, MS area – you can get them here:  Rainbow Grocery.  That is where I purchased mine.

You can also use oils from other citrus fruits, peppermint, citronella, cinnamon, tea trees, and cloves.  I chose lemon and lavender because I think they smell good together.  Some of the oils may seem a little pricey – maybe up to $12 for a tiny bottle – but remember, a little goes A LONG WAY.  I’ve made many batches of this spray and I haven’t even made a dent in the contents of the bottles.  Consider how much you would be paying for an exterminator to come out and spray your house down with toxic chemicals.  Or how much you would pay for a can of bug spray.  Yea – both of those methods will work, but why not try the homemade alternative?  I guarantee – it smells way better.

7 Responses to “Homemade Spider Spray”

  1. Brad Riesau April 17, 2013 at 9:47 pm #

    How often do you need to respray it?

    • Kristy July 11, 2013 at 6:23 am #

      I respray every few weeks or more if it has rained or something like that. But when I do spray, I am generous with it….I spray A LOT. Cause I reeeeeeeeallllllly hate spiders. I hate to kill them, because, hey….they’re just being spiders. So I’d just rather they not come in my house at all, that way I’m happy and the spiders can go about their little spider lives, alive and unsquished.

  2. Brian & Addie Asher June 12, 2013 at 7:34 pm #

    Giving this a shot! Went with Lemon, Lavender, a little Peppermint oil. Thanks for the tip, we’ll see how it works out here in Phoenix, the land of many critters!

    • Kristy July 11, 2013 at 6:20 am #

      I’m anxious to see hear how it worked for you with the Phoenix critters. :)

      • Brian & Addie Asher July 17, 2013 at 6:45 pm #

        So far, haven’t seen any spiders return. Did have one scorpion in the garage, but that reapplied and haven’t seen anything new since. We’ll see as time passes over the summer. Thanks! :)

  3. Chloe aka C.C. McChillin July 7, 2013 at 5:29 am #

    This is the greatest thing I’ve found all year! It seriously works! It’s also effective against bugs and mosquitos! I love this forever! Thank you for sharing with the world. :)

    • Kristy July 11, 2013 at 6:20 am #

      So glad it worked for you!! I continue to use this. And I’ve started using it INSIDE as well…..but just around baseboards and such. It works well at keeping spiders out, but those suckers will always find a way in.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

